x-men logo

Several years ago (can’t remember exact but it was more than 1 and less than 20 if that helps narrow it down…or if anybody actually cares) I decided I wanted to be able to re-read all of my Marvel comics (specifically X-Men) in chronological order.  Not necessarily the order they were released because various titles across the Marvel Universe would have several titles sometimes take place over a few hours and sometimes months could theoretically  pass between issues.  X-Men (vol.2) #1-5 and Uncanny X-Men #281 were a great example of this.  Uncanny #281 doesn’t even take place until after X-Men #5 even though it was released same month as X-Men #1.  When you factor in Alpha Flight and Spider-Man, Avengers, etc., it becomes a real feat.

So I started a spreadsheet.  It’s constantly evolving as new comics are released and as I read back through them and discover that maybe I got things wrong, maybe I finally purchased other issues that filled in certain blanks, maybe some just don’t feel like they fit in where I put them.  I’ve tried to base it on when it’s released but also how long the story seems to take place over.  Sometimes there’s just no reconciling and I have to do the best I can.  Once Morrison took over X-Men, it becomes nearly impossible for a period of time.  And to make matter worse, it’s been probably a year since I’ve really organized these so everything released within the last year or two hasn’t really been read through to adjust.  I’ll get to it…but don’t hold it against me.

I’ve used this spreadsheet to figure out what to read as I do these reviews.  it’s what I’m using going forward, so it might come in handy.  It’s also a great starting point if you want to make your own list.  I’m linking it here.  This order is also very dependent on what comics I own.  Yes, I have Marvel Unlimited, but I don’t feel like going through that, saving pics, etc.  It’s a pain in the ass.  And I am extremely limited on what Generation X titles I own.  and other issues got ruined in a basement flood I had a few years ago (thankfully very few of my Uncanny issues).  So this list isn’t perfect.

I’m also going to change how I post these.  I’ve finished Age of Apocalypse and read a bit beyond that, trying to figure out how I wanted to handle these things.  First of all, I’m not going to cover non-X-Men titles (I WILL start covering them once I get up to New Avengers because the Avengers and X-Men become intertwined at that point).  I’m also not going to review every single issue in full.  I mean come on folks…there are about 3100 on my list and I’m up to only about 1070.  But I’ll mention each one and try and mix them up which ones I’m covering.

I hope you enjoy.

